SPECIAL ASSEMBLY MEETING THE CITY AND BOROUGH OF JUNEAU, ALASKA

Meeting Minutes - June 10, 2015

MEETING NO. 2015-17: The Special Meeting of the City and Borough of Juneau Assembly, held in Conference Room 224 of the Municipal Building, was called to order at 9:02 p.m. by Mayor Merrill Sanford.

I. CALL TO ORDER / ROLL CALL

Assembly Present: Mary Becker, Karen Crane, Maria Gladziszewski, Loren Jones, Jesse Kiehl, Jerry Nankervis, Merrill Sanford, Kate Troll and Debbie White.

Assembly Absent: None.

Others present: Deputy Clerk Beth McEwen

II. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION ON NON-AGENDA ITEMS

None.

III. AGENDA TOPICS

A. Board Appointments

The Full Assembly sitting as the Human Resources Committee (HRC) will be interviewing applicants for the Docks and Harbors Board, Eaglecrest Board, and Planning Commission at a meeting immediately preceding this Special Assembly meeting. The HRC will forward its recommendations to the Assembly for appointments to the following seats:

Docks & Harbors Board - one (1) vacant seat for a term beginning immediately and expiring June 30, 2016 and three (3) seats for full terms beginning July 1, 2015 and expiring June 30, 2018.

Eaglecrest Board - two (2) seats for full terms beginning July 1, 2015 and expiring June 30, 2018.

Planning Commission - one (1) vacant seat for a term beginning immediately and expiring December 31, 2016.

The Manager has no recommendations regarding these appointments.

Assembly Human Resources Committee (HRC) Chair Loren Jones moved the following appointment recommendations from the Full Assembly sitting as the HRC meeting that had just adjourned:

Docks and Harbors Board:

Reappointment of incumbent Tom Donek to a term beginning July 1, 2015 and expiring June 30, 2018.

Appointment of David Lowell to a term beginning July 1, 2015 and expiring June 30, 2018. Appointment of Tom Zaruba to a term beginning immediately and expiring June 30, 2016.

Hearing no objections, the appointments to the Docks and Harbors Board were approved.

Eaglecrest Board:

Reappointment of incumbent Carlton Heine to a term beginning July 1, 2015 and expiring June 30, 2018.

Appointment of Lee Henry to a term beginning July 1, 2015 and expiring June 30, 2018.

Hearing no objections, the appointments to the Eaglecrest Board were approved.

Planning Commission:

Appointment of Matthew Bell to a term beginning immediately and expiring December 31, 2016.

Hearing no objections, the appointment to the Planning Commission was approved.

IV. ASSEMBLY COMMENTS AND QUESTIONS

Mr. Jones reminded members that the packets for the June 15, 2015 meetings of the Full Assembly sitting as the HRC and Special Assembly meeting were distributed at the beginning of this meeting.

Mr. Nankervis expressed appreciation for everyone who put their applications in for consideration and that the Assembly would not be able to get everything done that they need to without the hard work of the CBJ board and commission members.

Ms. Becker said she didn't understand why the Aquatics Board and the Treadwell Arena Advisory Board had greater user group restrictions than other boards such as the Eaglecrest and Docks and Harbors Boards. Discussion took place regarding these boards. Mayor Sanford said the Assembly can make changes to the governing legislation of any of the boards, but it would be something that would first go through the Human Resources Committee for discussion and then forwarded to the Assembly for any action.

V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before at 9:08 p.m.	the Assembly. Mayor Sanford adjourned the meeting
Signed: Laurie Sica, Municipal Clerk	Signed: Merrill Sanford, Mayor